blob: 680d61230d61749d8d2a71cdffacbf05875c7e15 [file] [log] [blame]
This documents the X.509 CAs, certificates, and CRLS used for testing.
Certification authorities
There are two main CAs for use as trusted roots:
- test-ca.crt aka "C=NL, O=PolarSSL, CN=PolarSSL Test CA"
uses a RSA-2048 key
- test-ca2*.crt aka "C=NL, O=PolarSSL, CN=Polarssl Test EC CA"
uses an EC key with NIST P-384 (aka secp384r1)
variants used to test the keyUsage extension
The files test-ca_cat12 and test-ca_cat21 contain them concatenated both ways.
Two intermediate CAs are signed by them:
- test-int-ca.crt "C=NL, O=PolarSSL, CN=PolarSSL Test Intermediate CA"
uses RSA-4096, signed by test-ca2
- test-int-ca2.crt "C=NL, O=PolarSSL, CN=PolarSSL Test Intermediate EC CA"
uses an EC key with NIST P-256, signed by test-ca
A third intermediate CA is signed by test-int-ca2.crt:
- test-int-ca3.crt "C=UK, O=mbed TLS, CN=mbed TLS Test intermediate CA 3"
Finally, other CAs for specific purposes:
- enco-ca-prstr.pem: has its CN encoded as a printable string, but child cert
enco-cert-utf8str.pem has its issuer's CN encoded as a UTF-8 string.
- test-ca-v1.crt: v1 "CA", signs
server1-v1.crt: v1 "intermediate CA", signs
server2-v1*.crt: EE cert (without of with chain in same file)
- keyUsage.decipherOnly.crt: has the decipherOnly keyUsage bit set
End-entity certificates
Short information fields:
- name or pattern
- issuing CA: 1 -> test-ca.crt
2 -> test-ca2.crt
I1 -> test-int-ca.crt
I2 -> test-int-ca2.crt
I3 -> test-int-ca3.crt
O -> other
- key type: R -> RSA, E -> EC
- C -> there is a CRL revoking this cert (see below)
- L -> CN=localhost (useful for local test servers)
- P1, P2 if the file includes parent (resp. parent + grandparent)
- free-form comments
List of certificates:
- cert_example_multi*.crt: 1/O R: subjectAltName
- cert_example_wildcard.crt: 1 R: wildcard in subject's CN
- cert_md*.crt, cert_sha*.crt: 1 R: signature hash
- cert_v1_with_ext.crt: 1 R: v1 with extensions (illegal)
- cli2.crt: 2 E: basic
- enco-cert-utf8str.pem: see enco-ca-prstr.pem above
- server1*.crt: 1* R C* P1*: misc *(server1-v1 see test-ca-v1.crt above)
*CRL for: .cert_type.crt, .crt, .key_usage.crt, .v1.crt
P1 only for _ca.crt
- server2-v1*.crt: O R: see test-ca-v1.crt above
- server2*.crt: 1 R L: misc
- server3.crt: 1 E L: EC cert signed by RSA CA
- server4.crt: 2 R L: RSA cert signed by EC CA
- server5*.crt: 2* E L: misc *(except server5-selfsigned)
-sha*: hashes
-eku*: extendeKeyUsage (cli/srv = www client/server, cs = codesign, etc)
-ku*: keyUsage (ds = signatures, ke/ka = key exchange/agreement)
- server6-ss-child.crt: O E: "child" of non-CA server5-selfsigned
- server6.crt, server6.pem: 2 E L C: revoked
- server7*.crt: I1 E L P1*: EC signed by RSA signed by EC
*P1 except 7.crt, P2 _int-ca_ca2.crt
*_space: with PEM error(s)
- server8*.crt: I2 R L: RSA signed by EC signed by RSA (P1 for _int-ca2)
- server9*.crt: 1 R C* L P1*: signed using RSASSA-PSS
*CRL for: 9.crt, -badsign, -with-ca (P1)
- server10*.crt: I3 E L P2/P3
Certificate revocation lists
Signing CA in parentheses (same meaning as certificates).
- crl-ec-sha*.pem: (2) server6.crt
- crl-future.pem: (2) server6.crt + unknown
- crl-rsa-pss-*.pem: (1) server9{,badsign,with-ca}.crt + cert_sha384.crt + unknown
- crl.pem, crl_expired.pem: (1) server1{,.cert_type,.key_usage,.v1}.crt + unknown
- crl_md*.pem: crl_sha*.pem: (1) same as crl.pem
- crt_cat_*.pem: (1+2) concatenations in various orders:
ec = crl-ec-sha256.pem, ecfut = crl-future.pem
rsa = crl.pem, rsabadpem = same with pem error, rsaexp = crl_expired.pem
Note: crl_future would revoke server9 and cert_sha384.crt if signed by CA 1
crl-rsa-pss* would revoke server6.crt if signed by CA 2